У нас вы можете посмотреть бесплатно The Ancaster Mills - Historic Ontario или скачать в максимальном доступном качестве, видео которое было загружено на ютуб. Для загрузки выберите вариант из формы ниже:
Если кнопки скачивания не
загрузились
НАЖМИТЕ ЗДЕСЬ или обновите страницу
Если возникают проблемы со скачиванием видео, пожалуйста напишите в поддержку по адресу внизу
страницы.
Спасибо за использование сервиса ClipSaver.ru
Ancaster is an historic town, located on the Niagara escarpment, near Hamilton, Ontario. Sometimes referred to as Ancaster Village by the locals, the village was founded in the 1792, and was originally referred to as Wilson Mill's. The name was given in honor of James Wilson(millwright), whom along with Richard Beasley (fur trader) were credited as the first founders of this community. Selecting this site based on its close proximity to required resources, such as fresh water, timber and limestone. They believed this would be an ideal site to erect a mill, they were not wrong. By 1791 Beasley and Wilson, had built the 1st grist mill and followed that in 1792 with a saw mill. Making Ancaster home to the only mills west of Grimsby, Ontario and it remained that way for many years. At that time, Ancaster was no more that a few buildings sounded by small aboriginal communities and farmers. In fact, main street Ancaster was once part of the original Iroquois Trail. A trail created and used by the First Nations people to travel and migrate. Knowing that a town could not thrive without community, Wilson set to work and built a general store, a blacksmith shop, a distillery and a tavern all within walking distance of his mills. Constructed to entice workers and families to the community, and it did. Workers began to arrive and build homes nearby the mill and the village began to take shape. Wilson, noticing the need, began to offer his own residence for use as a school, court and cooperage. By 1793, the land was surveyed and given the name Ancaster Twp, by John Graves Simcoe, a fan of the 3rd Duke of Ancaster. At that time Wilson's Mills was indirectly renamed Ancaster after the original Ancaster in Lincolnshire England. Then in 1794, Wilson sold his half of the grist-mill and sawmill to Jean Rousseaux 'St. John' Jean was owner to a general store on Wilson Street as well as a home in the community. The Rousseaux's store was a popular trading post and was quite profitable. As Governor Simcoe's official native and French interpreter, and as a confidante and advisor to native leader Joseph Brant Jean had a relationship with the Nations people. Trading with Joseph Brant's Mohawks and other Iroquois people from the Six Nations frequently. By 1797, Jean would build the Union Hotel and buy out the remaining share of the mills owned by Beasley's. Between 1794-1797, Rousseaux would go on to added a general store, brewery and distillery in addition to hiring the first school teacher. Jean multicultural background would eventually assist in bridging French and English cultures which was essential for the early development of Ancaster and area. By 1802, Jean sold the mills to the Union Mill Company, unfortunately they were destroyed by fire in 1812. However the mere 20 years of existence from (1791-1812) had provided the economic and social foundation for Ancaster. Jean Rousseaux died at Fort George (Niagara-on-the-Lake) of pleurisy, during the War of 1812. Egleston brothers, Harris and Alonzo arrived in 1832 and work at William Wiard's foundry, they eventually bought him out. Harris and Alonzo then proceeded to expand their own empire which included construction of a foundry in 1843, The foundry employed 25 people at the time. The next task was rebuilding a gristmill, by 1863 the mill was complete at the current location of the Old Ancaster Mill on the old Dundas Road. This Egleston mill was the 4th Ancaster mill and the third to be rebuilt at this current location. Wilson's original mills burnt down in 1812. Upon rebuilding, Wilson's mills were relocated from this original site at Wilson and Rousseaux Street a little further downstream and rebuilt in stone at the present Old Ancaster Mill location on Old Dundas Road. Again, at the same location, a second mill burnt down in 1818 as well as a third mill that was damaged by fire in 1854. Wilson's original 1791-1792 mill foundations still exist 75 yards upstream from the Wilson and Rousseaux Street intersection but are hidden with vegetation. The mill which stands today has a rich history spanning over 200 years, and can be referred to as the heart of Ancaster as this is were the village began. Although the building which stands today is not the original Wooden framed building as the 1st 3 mills were, The stone structure you see today was built in 1863. Constructed of limestone, quarried from the grounds of the mill. With the wall base as tick as 4', this mill is considered one of the most substantial stone buildings in the province. Erected prior to the inventions of Steam and electrical power the mill stands as a reminder of the shier power of determination and ingenuity. Ancaster mill continued to operate as a mill, until it was sold in 1972. The new owners renovated and reopened in February of 1979, asa restaurant and special events venue. The mill continues to offer great food, a wonderful atmosphere and a rich history.